A 54 year adventure

Tomorrow my wonderful wife and I will have been married for 54 years.

This is a special blessing because in February, 2009 she was told she had about 3 months to live, her liver was in the final stages of failure. By God’s grace, in answer to many of your prayers, the Lord used non traditional medicine and a doctor who has several Phd’s and his insight and knowledge.

Karen is still with us.

She does not remember much of 2009 and parts of 2010, she was in the ER 9 times in 15 months, had 3 long hospital stays, a heart attack, and diabetes.

My daughter Nanette has worked overtime with us to insure Karen was taken care of in the proper manner.

I just want to praise the Lord for her still being here. She just spent 2 weeks helping Nanette and her 4 boys get ready to go to Kazakhstan and Kirgizstan and spend two weeks teaching missionary children while their parents are in a retreat.  Karen painted, drew, sewed, showed the boys how to present a lesson, the oldest Nathan feels he is called into the ministry and has preached several times, the other boys have no experience in this kind of work, so their granny taught them how.   As many of you know she is one of the best at teacher training.

They left on Sunday, on the way home from the airport with eyes filled with tears, she said to me, “I can’t go and do it anymore, but I can still help others get the job done.”  She does not like going to Missions conference, it breaks her heart because she can no  longer go herself. She always leaves with a broken heart and many tears.

Once again, all this is possible because of God’s grace, your prayers and support.

Anyone who knows us will agree, she is the reason we have had ANY success in our ministry, she is the heart, conscience, and force that accomplished what we have done. I married way beyond myself, if anything I have held her back.

It has been an 54 year adventure, and I would change very little if I had the chance.

Sam Keller

