RSS

Battling against that black dog

05 Apr
Cover of "Lectures to My Students"

Cover of Lectures to My Students

I wish I had the same confidence as Charles Spurgeon concerning his “fit” of depression being a precursor to a “larger blessing”. Whilst I will never measure to the mark of Spurgeon in the quality or scope of his ministry I find encouragement in his words given in chapter 11 of Lectures to My Students.

… I was timorous and filled with a sense of my own unfitness. I dreaded the work which a gracious providence had prepared for me. I felt myself a mere child, and trembled as I heard the voice which said, “Arise, and thresh the mountains, and make them as chaff.”

This depression comes over me whenever the Lord is preparing a larger blessing for my ministry; the cloud is black before it breaks, and overshadows before it yields its deluge of mercy. Depression has now become to me as a prophet in rough clothing, a John the Baptist, heralding the nearer coming of my Lord’s richer benison. So have far better men found it. The scouring of the vessel has fitted it for the Master’s use. Immersion in suffering has preceded the baptism of the Holy Ghost. Fasting gives an appetite for the banquet. The Lord is revealed in the backside of the desert, while his servant keepeth the sheep and waits in solitary awe. The wilderness is the way to Canaan. The low valley leads to the towering mountain. Defeat prepares for victory. The raven is sent forth before the dove. The darkest hour of the night precedes the day-dawn. The mariners go down to the depths, but the next wave makes them mount to the heaven: their soul is melted because of trouble before he bringeth them to their desired haven.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 05/04/2011 in leadership, ministry

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Battling against that black dog

  1. Bronwyn

    05/04/2011 at 11:29 pm

    Very encouraging, thanks. Praise the Lord that nothing we go through is in vain but in the twinkling of an eye His glory will be revealed and we will get to see what it was all for!

     

Please join in the discussion by commenting...

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,379 other followers

